Nominations announced for BAFTA Cymru 2017

Ffilm Cymru Wales-supported films have earned 14 nominations at this year’s awards.

Chris Crow’s historical chiller The Lighthouse leads the pack alongside Sherlock with five nominations; Best Actor for 2016 winner Mark Lewis Jones, Director for Chris Crow, Editing for John Gillanders, Photography and Lighting for Alex Metcalfe, and Special and Visual Effects, Titles and Graphic Identity.

Welsh-language thriller Y Llyfrgell / The Library Suicides received four nominations; Best Actor for Dyfan Dwyfor, Director for Euros Lyn, Writer for Fflur Dafydd and Best Costume Design. Both The Lighthouse and Y Llyfrgell / The Library Suicides were produced through Ffilm Cymru Wales’ Cinematic scheme.

Picking up single nominations are the Welsh star of Moon Dogs Jack Parry-Jones for Best Actor, Richard Stoddard for Photography and Lighting on Yr Ymadawiad / The Passing, Richard Campling for Production Design on Don’t Knock Twice, and Paul Wright’s Special and Visual Effects on submarine survival thriller The Chamber.

Ewan Jones Morris’ film This Way Up, produced through Ffilm Cymru Wales and BFI NETWORK Wales’ short film scheme Beacons, was also nominated for Best Short Film.

The 26th BAFTA Cymru ceremony will take place on 8th October 2017 at St David’s Hall, Cardiff and will be presented by Huw Stephens for a third year. The ceremony will feature special guest performances and celebrity award presenters representing the best of the UK’s creative and media industries.

Read the full nominations here.